Nannotax3 - ntax_Farinacci - C


Folder trail: ntax_Farinacci -> C
Folders this level: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, Y, Z, hidden, path, Calcispheres, Haptophytes, Palaeozoic

Original descriptions of taxa. For coccolithophores, and many calcispheres, these are pages from the Farinacci & Howe Catalog of Calcareous Nannofossils. In other cases (e.g. non-calcifying haptophytes) the data is directly compiled on this site. The "Catalogue of Calcareous Nannofossils" was originally compiled by Prof A. Farinacci 1969-1989, since 2000 it has been updated and extended by Richard Howe - see The Farinacci and Howe Catalog - an Introduction.
Taxa are sorted alphabetically for simple browsing, or you can use search boxes at the top & bottom of the page

C has 111 sub-taxa these are grouped in 3 pages
1 Calcia :: 2 Clausi :: 3 Cribro
Calciarcus Manton et al. 1977
= Calciarcus
Calciarcus alaskensis

Calcicalathina Thierstein 1971
= Calcicalathina
Calcicalathina alta
Calcicalathina erbae
Calcicalathina praeoblongata

Calcidiscus Kamptner 1950
= Calcidiscus

Calcioconus Schiller 1925

Calcioconus vitreus

Calciopappus Gaarder & Ramsfjell 1954
= Calciopappus
Calciopappus caudatus
Calciopappus rigidus

Calciopilleus Müller 1974

Calciopilleus obscurus

Calciosolenia Gran 1912
= Calciosolenia

Calcitrema Kamptner 1963

Calcitrema asymmetricum
Calcitrema longiporum
Calcitrema praeceps
Calcitrema ranesum

Calcivascularis Wiegand 1984
= Calcivascularis
Calcivascularis cassidyi
Calcivascularis jansae

Calculites Prins & Sissingh in Sissingh 1977
= Calculites

Calicasphaera Kleijne 1991
= Calicasphaera
Calicasphaera blokii
Calicasphaera concava
Calicasphaera diconstricta

Calolithus Noël 1965
= Watznaueria
Calolithus elongatus
Calolithus formosus
Calolithus martelae
Calolithus speetonensis

Calyculus Noël 1972
= Calyculus
Calyculus adjunctus
Calyculus cribrum
Calyculus depressus
Calyculus elongatus
Calyculus pugnatum
Calyculus subcircularis

Calyptrolithina Heimdal 1982

Calyptrolithophora Heimdal, in Heimdal & Gaarder 1980

Calyptrolithus Kamptner 1948
= Unidentifiable nannofossil
Calyptrolithus cedus
Calyptrolithus galerus
Calyptrolithus hemisphaericus
Calyptrolithus lucasi
Calyptrolithus morionum
Calyptrolithus subtilis

Calyptrosphaera Lohmann 1902

Campylosphaera Kamptner 1963
= Campylosphaera
Campylosphaera bramlettei
Campylosphaera differta
Campylosphaera eodela

Camuralithus de Kaenel & Villa 1996
= Camuralithus
Camuralithus pelliculatus

Caneosphaera Gaarder, in Gaarder & Heimdal 1977
= Syracosphaera
Caneosphaera halldalii dilatata

Canistrolithus Jordan & Chamberlain 1993
= Canistrolithus
Canistrolithus valliformis

Carinolithus Prins in Grün, Prins & Zweili 1974
= Carinolithus
Carinolithus cantaluppii
Carinolithus fistulatus
Carinolithus poulnabronei
Carinolithus superbus incrassatus

Caterella Black 1971
= Watznaueria
Caterella perstrata

Catillus Goy in Goy et al. 1979
= Calyculus
Catillus hommerili
Catillus serrai

Catinaster Martini & Bramlette 1963
= Catinaster
Catinaster calyculus
Catinaster calyculus rectus
Catinaster coalitus
Catinaster coalitus extensus
Catinaster glenos
Catinaster mexicanus
Catinaster rotundus
Catinaster umbrellus
Catinaster virginianus

Catostaura Aubry in Aubry & Bord 2009
= Cruciplacolithus

Cenorbiculus Burns 1976
= Discorhabdus
Cenorbiculus centriperforatus

Centosphaera Wind & Wise 1976
= Centosphaera
Centosphaera barbata

Centumgemina Mai & Aubry 2005
= Centumgemina

Cepekiella Roth 1970
= Blackites
Cepekiella elongata

Ceratolithina Martini 1967
= Ceratolithina
Ceratolithina bicornuta
Ceratolithina copis
Ceratolithina cruxii
Ceratolithina cruxii capitanea
Ceratolithina duplex duplex
Ceratolithina duplex gemina
Ceratolithina hamata
Ceratolithina hamata falcata
Ceratolithina naturalisteplateauensis
Ceratolithina vesca

Ceratolithoides Bramlette & Martini 1964
= Ceratolithoides

Ceratolithus Kamptner 1950
= Ceratolithus

Chiasmolithus Hay, Mohler & Wade 1966
= Chiasmolithus

Chiastella Lambert 1993
= Chiastella
Chiastella grana

Chiastozygus Gartner 1968
= Chiastozygus

Chiphragmalithus Bramlette & Sullivan 1961
= Chiphragmalithus
Chiphragmalithus acanthodes
Chiphragmalithus achylosus
Chiphragmalithus altinlii
Chiphragmalithus armatus
Chiphragmalithus barbatus
Chiphragmalithus bramlettei
Chiphragmalithus calathus
Chiphragmalithus muzylevii
Chiphragmalithus quadratus
Chiphragmalithus vandenberghei

Chrysotila Anand 1936
= Chrysotila
Chrysotila lamellosa
Chrysotila stipitata

Citrocalculus Troelsen & Quadros 1971
= Micrantholithus
Citrocalculus minutus

Clathrolithus Deflandre in Deflandre & Fert 1954
= Clathrolithus
Clathrolithus ellipticus
Clathrolithus minutus
Clathrolithus spinosus

C has 111 sub-taxa these are grouped in 3 pages
1 Calcia :: 2 Clausi :: 3 Cribro

Current identification:

Compiled data

Original Description



Extra details from original publication

Editors' Notes



C: Catalog entry compiled by . Viewed: 3-12-2022

Taxon Search:
Advanced Search

Short stable page link: Go to to create a permanent copy of this page - citation notes
Link to WoRMS (World Register of Marine Species)

Comments (0)

No comments yet on this page. Please do add comments if you spot any problems, or have information to share

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image
Powered by Commentics